Starbucks Series: Molten Chocolate Trio

To my surprise, I recently saw on my Facebook page that Starbucks had released new drinks for Valentine’s Day: the Molten Hot Chocolate, Molten Chocolate Frappuccino, and the Molten Chocolate Latte. Now, I’m sure most people know by now, but I am a sucker for limited-time products. These three drinks are only available until February 14th, and, despite the high prices, I just had to try as many as I could get my hands on. This will be a cumulative post of all the drinks I tried of this special series.

Molten Chocolate Frappuccino

DSC_0005.JPG

Beautiful.

Despite the cold, wintry temperatures, I dared to order the frappuccino version of the drink. Starbucks is offering two different kinds: regular frappuccino and creme frappuccino. One has coffee in it and one doesn’t. Being the avid coffee drinking fan I am, I had to order the original. Also, because I am on a “diet” (one that I fail at), I ordered 2% milk for the first time. I really don’t know the difference between the taste of 2% versus whole milk – but I’m sure this might’ve affected the taste of the drink.

According to the Starbucks website, the frappuccino is a mix of coffee, mocha, blended chocolate chips, and topped with mocha-espresso whipped cream and a mocha-espresso drizzle.

The first thing I noticed was the nice, light brown color of the espresso whipped cream. The mocha-espresso drizzle was a lovely, thick chocolate sauce on top. Everything was brown, brown, brown – emphasizing the amount of chocolate flavor in this thing.

I first tried the topping on its own. The whipped cream was absolutely delicious. The espresso taste was very pungent and the cream itself was super smooth. Nothing like that Cool Whip affair. It melts in your mouth.

The chocolate chips added a really nice texture to the drink. If I hadn’t known they were chips, I would’ve thought they were cookie bits. It also reminded me of Starbucks’ Java Chip Frappuccino. The drink itself had a very slight bitter taste to it, and was less sweet than Starbucks’ usual frappuccino offerings. It really reminded me of brownies. Slightly watery brownies.

I actually liked it better when the frappuccino melted a bit – it concentrated some of the syrups to certain areas of the drink, making the taste stronger.

The whipped cream was my favorite part of the drink. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t bad overall, but the drink really lacked the strong flavor I wanted. It wasn’t as dark as advertised, but it was still a satisfying drink. The whole milk probably would’ve made it a much fuller and creamier drink.

Molten Chocolate Latte

DSC_0021.JPG

I was tingling with excitement when I was preparing to order the Molten Chocolate Late. I love coffee and I love chocolate. Especially dark chocolate, so I was looking forward to melted chocolate, espresso and mocha-infused steamed milk (whole milk this time, might I add)!

Unfortunately, the drink wasn’t as rich as I would have liked it to be. The first thing that was off was that my local Starbucks ran out of mocha-espresso whipped cream. I was given regular whipped cream, but insisted afterwards, when they finished making a new batch, for the special topping. Of course, I couldn’t taste the whipped cream this time because of the hot drink.

My initial sip was….underwhelming to say the least. All the chocolate had sunk to the bottom, and the liquid tasted like slightly powdery hot chocolate. It was nice that it was warm, considering the weather was windy and cold, but it wasn’t the thick, creamy beverage I was hoping for. It did have a slightly bitter note and a deep chocolate taste, but honestly, it just seemed like….Swiss Miss.

Molten Hot Chocolate

DSC_0026

Melty whipped cream ❤

THIS. This was what I was looking for!

The Molten Hot Chocolate was by far the best rendition of the three. It had a rich, dark chocolate base – probably a result of chocolate on top of chocolate, on top of chocolate. With no coffee to water down the flavor of the chocolate. It was creamy, warm, and had a strong, thick, and milky taste. Much like the latte, the chocolate chips sank to the bottom and the drink was slightly powdery. But the taste made up for the powdery texture.

I would absolutely get the hot chocolate again.

In both the Molten Hot Chocolate and the Molten Chocolate Latte, the chocolates sank to the bottom. This was nice as a sort of after-dessert. I got a spoon and started eating them. The chocolate is a bit powdery.

Iced Molten Chocolate Latte

DSC_0071.JPG

This is kind of ridiculous. In 3 days, I’ve had 4 of these drinks.

But, I digress.

I have to say, the iced version was a lot better than the hot version of the latte. It had a stronger, dark roast feelings. The coffee overpowered the chocolate, giving it a bitter, prominent taste. It wasn’t very sweet and I could tell it was a latte and NOT one of Starbucks’ regular, sugary drinks. Unlike the hot version, the chocolate was less melted down into the drink, making the drink less powdery in texture. The chocolate sank down to the bottom like its contemporaries, and I noticed this time that the chocolate really had an inherently, slightly crunchy, grainy texture.The iced version is definitely a welcome addition to the Starbucks line up. It was more coffee than chocolate and tasted completely different from the other renditions.

Overall impressions:::

I have to admit – I loved the Molten Chocolate Trio! Some more then others, but I do hope that Starbucks repeats this next year! The use of dark chocolate was a great choice, and I do not regret trying them. I did not get to try the Creme Frappuccino version, but I doubt it’s much different from the coffee version!

Starbucks is definitely on the pricey side, but one of these Molten Chocolate drinks is well worth the price! I would even go again. Once. Or twice. Or more.

 

Leave a Reply

