Starbucks Series: Cherry Blossom Frappuccino

As soon as I got my Facebook notification from Starbucks Frappuccino about the new Cherry Blossom Frappuccino…I just had to get my hands on it. I am a huge sucker for all things limited edition and limited time only, so this was just too enticing. I also knew about the Strawberry Sakura Frappuccino in Japan right now, so I was extremely excited since I didn’t have to travel to get this limited time offering!

The frappuccino is made of strawberry puree, cream, white chocolate sauce, whipped cream and matcha powder.

DSC_0003.JPG

Pale pink and green, reminiscent of cherry blossoms

When I went to Starbucks to order my drink, I found that everyone else was also ordering the CBF. It must be one of Starbucks’ newest fads lol. In any case, the drink is absolutely beautiful. The pale pink and green express a mellow, spring mood. The green matcha also extends down into the bottom of the drink like vines. I’ve seen pictures (and Snapchats!) of CBF with green sauce on top, but when I ordered it, I only got a sprinkling of matcha powder.

My initial thought of the taste was sour. It had a tart flavor and only a hint of strawberry and white chocolate. Yes, the cherry blossom frap actually has no cherry in it. I was expecting strawberry milk, since my friends in Japan told me their version tasted like that, but the US version actually tasted more like tart original frozen yogurt. With a hint of strawberry. There isn’t any coffee in the drink, so it is purely cream and sugar. Since the weather was 80-90 degree Fahrenheit, I do have to say the drink was very welcome. It made me cool down and feel refreshed. The aftertaste was light and subtle as well.

If mixed with the whipped cream, the drink tastes more like strawberry ice cream.

DSC_0005.JPG

Overall: if you are looking for cherry, this is not it. It is strawberry and it is tart. Refreshing, yes. Perfect for a summer day, yes (even though the colors and taste are, I suppose, spring-like). Just keep in mind it is a creme-based drink. The Cherry Blossom Frappuccino is only available through March 20, so get your hands on one as soon as possible!

Leave a Reply

