Starbucks Series: Double Double Fudge Bar Frappuccino

This Frappuccino was the first time I found out that availability is dependent on what store you go to. I set out to Starbucks one day to get this particular new drink, but I was given the Double Chocolatey Chip Frappuccino instead. I was super upset. But since I was on a road trip, I made a stop by another Starbucks in New York, which, luckily had the drink.

DSC_0002

Chocolate Chip Frap

I also read on the Starbucks Facebook that there were special Cookie Straws to go along with the new Frappuccino. Found out it was for any of them, though.

The drink itself was very chocolatey. A lot of people thought it was like the Cookie Crumble Mocha Frappuccino of yesteryear, and it really was like it. There is a lot of fudge in the drink, making it thick in consistency, and it coats your tongue in chocolate flavor. So chocolate lovers will love the Double Fudge Bar. And, if you think about it hard enough, the vanilla syrup they added in the mix make the icy beverage taste more like a fudge bar. Or like mocha syrup.

DSC_0025 - mini with cookie straw.JPG

Cookie Straw in Double Double Fudge Bar Frappuccino

The Cookie Straw, though – I was surprised it could actually be used as a straw! A very breakable straw. It was really more of a novelty item (and an extra charge!)  and, though it takes some time for it to get soggy, it’s really not convenient. It has a coating of chocolate inside the straw to buffer the cookie from the liquid, but that could potentially have made the drink taste more chocolatey. I think it might be better to just crumble it into your drink to add in texture.

DSC_0030 - cookie straw 90 kcal.JPG

Cookie Straw specifically for Frappuccinos

 So, even though the drink was delicious, I wouldn’t say it was my favorite-ever Frappuccino. It’s still the Caramel Waffle Cone for me – light and caramelly enough to awaken my taste buds.

Leave a Reply

