Koeido: Nama Guso Shaved Ice

I was lucky enough to make a trip down to Koeido in the summertime to try their famous shaved ice. When I got there, the line was out the door! Not quite as bad as it could be, but still a long wait. Each shaved ice is also made by hand, and takes a long time to come out. Combining the wait time for the line with the wait time for the shaved ice…I probably waited an hour or more! It was a painfully long wait – especially when you can see other customers getting their orders. And it was SO hot outside.

Koeido had two specials at this time: Apricot and Raw Nectarine. By raw, they simply mean that they use real fruit and real fruit chunks are included in the shaved ice. I was tempted by the apricot, but I ended up going with their famous Nama Guso instead.

Nama Guso, aka Raw Grapefruit with Soft Serve on top is a pile of shaved ice served on top of a rich, fresh fruit sauce with chunks of grapefruit mixed in. The vanilla soft serve is delightfully creamy and perfect on a hot day. The taste overall is slightly tangy and not very sweet. It’s just the right amount of sweetness – even those people who don’t like dessert can enjoy it.

I was actually expecting grape flavor, since I had assumed the “gu” stood for grape and not grapefruits. Thus, when I saw the chunks of citrus fruit, I was disappointed and thought that they had gotten my order wrong. Tart. If you don’t like overly sweet things, it’s the perfect treat for a hot day. But I LOVE sweets, so it was a bit too restrained for me.

Nectarine Shaved Ice was VERY sweet. Tasted pretty much just like the Nectarine Peach Cream Frappuccino at Starbucks.

_DSC1784.JPG

_DSC1788 - nectarine soft.JPG

_DSC1793.JPG

Leave a Reply

