Dalloyau

_DSC4995.JPG_DSC5003.JPG

On my way back from a visit to the Mandarin Oriental’s fabulous Afternoon Tea, I managed to make my way to Ginza, hoping to grab a couple of on-sale Heat Tech from UNIQLO. While in the well-known shopping district, Dalloyau caught my eye. I knew that it was a famous Parisian food company with a long history, and I had frequently seen reviews of their products online. Despite the luxury, I decided to try the brand.

The first two products I bought were the Amaou Strawberry Macaron and the Pistachio Macaron. I love Pistachio, and I thought that the famous Amaou would be an interesting flavor to try. Amaou, by the way, is a popular and expensive brand of strawberries originating from Fukuoka, located on the southern island of Kyushu. They are known for their sweetness, size, and shape.

Before I left the store, I also purchased their Opera Cake. Dalloyau is known as the originators of the coffee-almond treat. Layers of almond sponge cake soaked in coffee syrup, ganache, and buttercream. It is just so good.

The macarons, on the other hand, were a disappointment. Especially the amaou! The strawberry taste really only comes from the cream, which wasn’t terrible, but it also wasn’t a very fresh taste. The pistachio had a much more authentic flavor, with strong salty tones associated with the green nut. It was a delicious experience, but…

Both macarons had WAY too much shell! I was biting through too much of the almond meringue and barely had a chance to enjoy the filling or the overall texture of the cookies…

 

 

Leave a Reply

